End of Year Recognition Luncheon for Nyack College Faculty and Staff

The annual Nyack College End of Year Faculty and Staff Luncheon was held in Boon Campus Center on the Rockland County campus. Special awards were presented to employees of Nyack College and Alliance Theological Seminary for distinguished service.

The Rick Santiago Commitment to Mission Award, named in honor of the late director of database operations, who went home to be with the Lord in 2016, is presented each year to one faculty member and one staff/administrator member. These individuals are recognized for the kind of extraordinary service that reflects one or more of the institutional core values of being academically excellent, globally engaged, intentionally diverse, personally transforming and socially relevant.

This year the awards were presented by Joy and Xelena Santiago. Joy, director of student accounts, was married to Rick for more than two decades. Xelena is Rick and Joy’s oldest daughter, a 2018 graduate of Nyack College, who has served with the Residence Life team and also on the Information Technology Help Desk at Nyack.

Recipients of the Rick Santiago Commitment to Mission Award were faculty member, Dr. Gordon Boronow and staff/administrator member, Christy Choi.

Dr. Boronow, who is an assistant professor in the School of Business and Leadership, was recognized for the core values of global engagement and personal transformation. For nine years, he has facilitated students’ understanding of cross-cultural mission work and evangelism through an annual mission trip. His generosity was instrumental in bringing the Ron Blue Institute Center to Nyack College, where students learn to integrate personal faith and biblical principles with financial management.






Mrs. Choi is the Nyack College director of library services who was recognized for the core value of personal transformation and commitment to the overall mission of Nyack College. She has earned two master’s degrees at Nyack and is beginning work on a doctoral degree, modeling the personal growth and academic excellence of a lifelong learner. In addition to her role in library services, she teaches foreign language to Nyack students and volunteers at a local school district. With a heart for serving in any way possible, she has conducted seminars for colleagues and has quietly established a food pantry for needy students. Congratulations to Mrs. Choi for her more than 18 years of nurturing personal transformation in Nyack students and colleagues.





Two employees recognized for 35 years of service are Vice President for College Relations, Mr. Jeff Quinn and Senior Accountant Mrs. Elaine Holodynsky.

Vice President Quinn is also a member of the faculty in the College of Bible and Christian Ministry and at Alliance Theological Seminary. He oversees the overall College Relations effort including donor relations; alumni relations and services; special events; publications and media relations and database and operations management. He oversees College efforts in raising annual fund support for Nyack and ATS from individuals, corporations and foundations and serves as a corporate representative at public events. He assists President Scales in cultivating relationships with major donors as well as with the design of corporate messaging. During his distinguished years of loyal service he has also served in the Adult Degree Completion Program, the development of the prison education program at Sing Sing, an exceptional speech coach, and spearheaded institutional messaging and public relations efforts. A 1984 graduate of Nyack College, he went on to earn an M.A. and M.Ed. at Columbia University Teachers College.



Mrs. Holodynsky faithfully serves Nyack College in the Business Office as a senior accountant. She began her tenure with Nyack as a secretary in the Christian Service and Placement Office, which was then located in Pardington Hall. After serving in an entry level role in the Business Office, her exemplary work ethic eventually led to her current senior position. Commended by administrators and praised by her colleagues, all agree that she is an outstanding employee who is accurate, organized and committed to the people and programs of the Nyack College campus community.

The following awards were also presented.

Five years of service: Dr. Christopher Dost, Dr. Stanley John and Mr. Joseph Williams

Ten years of service: Dr. Gerard Becker, Dr. Sharron Greaves and Dr. Nathaniel Perez

Fifteen years of service: Dr. Michael Gillern, Mrs. Melissa Hickey, Mrs. Margaret Jennings, Dr. JoAnn Looney, Dr. Gwendolyn Parker-Ames, Mr. Steven Phillips, Dr. Cleotha Robertson, Dr. Anita Underwood and Dr. Jacqueline Washington

Twenty years of service: Dr. Carol Awasu, Dr. Charles Awasu, Dr. Frank Chan, Ms. Jackie Eugene, Dr. Stephen Maret, Dr. Ronald Walborn and Dr. Kwiryung Yun

Congratulations to all of our award recipients!