New York State’s "Enhanced Tuition Award" Program Is Adopted

As New York State rolled out its free tuition program, officially known as the Excelsior Scholarship, exclusively for State University of New York (SUNY) and City University of New York (CUNY) schools, another initiative—the Enhanced Tuition Award (ETA)—became available for New York’s private colleges.

Nyack College is one of a half dozen Hudson Valley institutions of higher education and one of the 29 out of 95 New York private colleges that have opted in to the State’s ETA program, providing New York residents with a discounted tuition. The awards, which have been available since the fall 2017 semester, can be a combination of a Tuition Assistance Plan (TAP) award, ETA and matching funds from participating colleges. Nyack’s decision to opt in to the ETA reflects its longstanding commitment to an affordable, quality education in an intentionally diverse and personally transforming environment.

"Nyack College is dedicated to college affordability for all of our students. We have worked diligently to maintain affordable costs while simultaneously distributing student aid that facilitates access to students seeking private Christian college education, regardless of a student's economic background," says Nyack president, Dr. Michael G. Scales.

Students in associate or bachelor’s degree programs, who maintain passing grades and are on track to complete their degree on time, will be eligible to receive the tuition discount award. In addition to the 12-month State residency required prior to the term for which application is made, the student’s annual family income must be less than $100,000. Among other requirements, applicants must plan to live and work in New York for the same number of years for which the discount has been awarded. (i.e. Students who receive the discount for four years are required to live and work in New York for four years.) Individuals in an undergraduate program that is structured to be completed in five years are eligible to receive the award for the five years. If students do not maintain the requirements of eligibility, the award will be converted to a loan.