Presidential Announcement


February 1, 2006
Dear Alumni and Friends,

Ronald Eastman

After a five-month presidential search, it is the distinct pleasure of the Board of Trustees to announce that the 12th president of Nyack College and Alliance Theological Seminary will be Dr. Michael G. Scales.  In fact, we are blessed to say to the president-elect, “Welcome home.”

As many of you know, Dr. Scales is a very familiar face on our campus, having recently served Nyack as Vice President of Enrollment. Last year, the Master’s College and Seminary in Santa Clarita, California pursued him to become their Vice President of Advancement. Sadly but with full support, Nyack faculty and staff turned out in force to wish him well. The sentiments shared at a farewell reception spoke volumes about the high regard that faculty, staff, and students hold for him.

Dr. Scales has served as the Executive Vice President, Vice President of Advancement, and Assistant to the President for Enrollment at Nyack. The committee believes that his familiarity with our mission, vision, and core values and his background in Christian Higher Education will serve us well.  His experience consulting with some fifty colleges and universities, marketing expertise and past role as general advisor to college presidents are vital to his new role.

The Presidential Search Committee, composed of trustees and faculty, reviewed a distinguished pool of over thirty prospects.  We thank the committee for their prayerful and diligent participation in making this exciting selection possible. In addition, we thank Mrs. Etta Pippi for providing her invaluable administrative support to the committee.

Visit the special presidential link at our website often. In the days and months ahead, updates will include more about our new president and his vision for the college and seminary, as well as the dates and venues for inaugural activities scheduled for the fall.

With warm regards,

Ronald E. Eastman, Chair
Nyack/ATS Board of Trustees
Paul D. Glenn, Chair
Presidential Search Committee