Two New York Locations

ROCKLAND: 845.358.1710
MANHATTAN: 212.625.0500

 

 

School of Music NYC

School of Music Links (NYC)

Here are Internet Links and further information that will help you succeed as a music student.   

Nyack School of Music (NYC) Student Handbook

What Does It Take To Be A Music Major?

Link Between Music and Intelligence

Specific Job Descriptions In  Music

 

Sheet music, CD’s, and equipment may be obtained at any of the following retailers:

160 West 56th Street (212) 757-5587 (THE resource for the classical musician, at 7th Ave. behind Carnegie Hall)

Juilliard School Bookstore: http://www.bookstore.juilliard.edu/

60 Lincoln Center Plaza, (212) 799-5000 (note that this is in the same plaza as the Performing Arts Library – very handy when you’ve been studying hard and found a music book that you’d like to buy for yourself)

Colony Record & Radio Ctr. Inc., 1619 Broadway (212) 265-2050

(particularly good for Broadway selections)

Carl Fischer Inc.  http://www.moravianmusic.org/publishers.htm

65 Bleeker St Fl 8, (212) 777-0900

T.I.S. Music Catalog:  http://www.tismusic.com/

J.W. Pepper: http://www.jwpepper.com/

Barnes & Noble: http://www.barnesandnoble.com/

HMV Record Stores:  http://www.hmv.com

J & R Music & Computer World:  http://www.jr.com/

CD World  http://www.cdworld.com

Citidex guide to all the music stores in NYC: http://www.citidex.com/646.htm#C7231

 

Library resources:

Nyack College:   http://www.nyack.edu/library

New York Public Library: http://www.nypl.org/

Reference materials, recordings, repertoire, and even a listening center may be found at the New York Public Library for the Performing Arts, 40 Lincoln Center Plaza (212) 870-1630.  Any person residing or attending college in New York may request and receive a free public library card. 

Worldwide Internet Music Resources which include: http://www.music.indiana.edu/music_resources/

 

Performance Venues:

(This does not include the many churches, schools and Jazz clubs.)


92nd Street YM & YWHA http://www.92y.org/

The Brooklyn Academy of Music:http://www.bam.org/

Brooklyn Center: http://www.brooklyncenter.com/

City Center http://www.citycenter.org/

Dixon Place http://www.dixonplace.org/

The Irish Arts Center http://www.irishartscenter.org/

The Japan Society http://www.japansociety.org/

The Juilliard School http://www.juilliard.edu/

La Mama ETC http://www.lamama.org/nowplaying_frame.htm

Lincoln Center for the Performing Arts http://www.lincolncenter.org/

Miller Theatre, Columbia University http://www.millertheater.com/

New York Philharmonic http://newyorkphilharmonic.org/

NY State Theater http://www.nycballet.com/about/aboutnyst.html

This includes the NYC Opera and NYC Ballet

Metropolitan Opera http://www.metoperafamily.org/metopera/home.aspx

New York International Fringe Festival  http://www.fringenyc.org/
Radio City Music Hall http://www.radiocity.com/

Symphony Space http://www.symphonyspace.org/

Town Hall http://www.the-townhall-nyc.org/

Manhattan School of Music: http://www.msmnyc.edu/

 

Additional NYC Theater Companies:

The Acting Company
American Place Theater
Atlantic Theatre Company
Creation Production Company
The Drama Department
Jean Cocteau Repertory
Judith Shakespeare Company
Manhattan Ensemble Theatre (M.E.T.)
Manhattan Theatre Club
Mint Theatre Company
New Dramatists
New Georges
New York Shakespeare Festival
New York Theatre Workshop
Pan Asian Repertory
Pearl Theatre
Playwrights Horizons
Richard Foreman's Ontological Theater
Roundabout Theatre
Teatro Repertorio Español
The Wooster Group
Theater for the New City
Theatre for a New Audience
TheatreWorks/USA
Ubu Repertory Theater
Vineyard Theatre Company
Wings Theatre

Theatre Guides
City Search
The Internet Broadway Database
New York Theatre Wire
The New York Theatre Experience
The New York Times: Current Theater

Playbill Online
Village Voice: Theatre Reviews and Articles
 
Additional Resources
Click here for additional links to helpful online resources.