President Michael G. Scales


Michael G. Scales, Ed.D.

President, Nyack College/Alliance Theological Seminary

Ed.D., University of Georgia
M.A., Western Kentucky University
B.S., Toccoa Falls College

The founder and former president of an award-winning management and marketing firm, Dr. Michael G. Scales is the 12th president of Nyack College and Alliance Theological Seminary (ATS) with New York campuses in Rockland County and Manhattan and an extension site in Puerto Rico. In June 2015, the Nyack/ATS Board of Trustees unanimously re-elected him to a fourth term.

Dr. Scales has a proven affinity for the mission, core values, and vision of Nyack College/Alliance Theological Seminary based on his extended relationship with the college and seminary in roles as Executive Vice President and Vice President for Advancement and Enrollment. After consulting for some 50 college and university presidents, the Gadsden, AL native concluded that Nyack College—nationally recognized for its ethnic, socio-economic, and denominational diversity among students and faculty—had the most compelling story in higher education.

In his most ambitious move since casting vision to obtain university status for the institution, Scales spearheaded the relocation of the New York City campus on Broadway to iconic Battery Park in 2013. The modern structure at 2 Washington Street, surrounded by renowned Manhattan landmarks such as Wall Street, the Freedom Tower, Ellis Island, and New York Harbor, is the new permanent home for the city campus in nearly 170,000 square feet of custom-designed space, doubling the square footage that previously accommodated the burgeoning student population.

Inaugurated as chief officer on April 27, 2007, President Scales has been surrounded by an extraordinary team of administrators, faculty, and staff who have been his support system in an impressive list of milestones. The Scales administration has celebrated an amendment of the Nyack College charter by the New York State Board of Regents, which is their approval for the institution to offer doctoral programs; the launch of its first doctoral degree, (the Doctor of Ministry); the addition of new bachelor's degrees in nursing, biology, and criminal justice; master's degrees in marriage and family therapy and in Ancient Judaism and Christian Origins. Today, fully online degree programs include the Master in Business Administration, the Master of Science in TESOL, and the Bachelor of Science in Organizational Management.

Dr. Scales is a board member of The Christian & Missionary Alliance Foundation, Inc. (Shell Point Retirement Community), the largest life care community in Florida. He was elected to the Presidents Council of the National Collegiate Athletic Association (NCAA), a 15-member panel of university presidents from Division II schools. On this chief governing body for NCAA Division II athletics, Dr. Scales serves as a Championships Committee Liaison. He was named the 2013 Paul Harris Fellow by the Nyack Rotary Club, the organization’s highest service recognition, established by Rotary International in 1957 and named after its founder. Other previous leadership positions include his tenure as board secretary for the New York State Commission on Independent Colleges and Universities (cIcu) board of trustees and his role as chair and vice chair of the Council for Christian Colleges & Universities (CCCU) Commission for Advancing Intercultural Competencies.

Married to the former Susan Lynn DeLany for more than three decades, Dr. Scales and his wife are the parents of two daughters and two sons and the grandparents of four grandsons and one granddaughter.

Nyack College was founded in 1882 in New York City by Dr. A. B. Simpson. Student enrollment has reached nearly 3,400 on its New York campuses in Nyack and in Manhattan and at the extension site in San Juan, Puerto Rico. Nyack is a Christian liberal arts college and is ranked by U.S. News and World Report as having one of the most diverse student populations in the nation. Alliance Theological Seminary (ATS) was founded in 1960 and is the official seminary of The Christian and Missionary Alliance.


Each year men and women of exceptional accomplishment are awarded honorary doctoral degrees by Nyack College and Alliance Theological Seminary.

These recipients embody and esteem the ideals of Nyack’s core values of being—academically excellent, globally engaged, intentionally diverse, personally transforming, and socially relevant.

In 2010, Dr. Michael G. Scales, the 12th president of Nyack College and ATS, established The President’s Hall of Distinction, a tradition that will annually commemorate our doctoral honorees and other select people of outstanding public influence.

The following individuals were selected by President Scales and the Nyack College/ATS Board of Trustees and installed in the Hall of Distinction:


Juan Hernández
Political Advisor

Datuk Edward Ong
OCK Group, Singapore

Frances E. Pratt
Nyack Branch, NAACP


Mark Burnett
Film & Television Producer
One Three Media
(A Hearst | Mark Burnett Company)

Roma Downey
Actress, Film Producer, Author
LightWorkers Media

The Lord Edmiston
British Parliament Member
Christian Vision Founder


Thai Phuoc Truong
Evangelical Church of Vietnam

Graham Power
Co-founder and Chairman
The Power Group of Companies

Micheal Flaherty
President and Co-founder
Walden Media


Steve Forbes
Chairman and Editor-in-Chief
Forbes Media

Michael Louis
Chairman of Hotels, Vineyards & Strategic Initiatives
The Louis Group International

Gloria Gaither
Grammy and Dove Award Winning Christian Songwriter
and Author

Stanley Kwong
Pastor, Queens Herald Church


Joel C. Hunter
Senior Pastor
A Church Distributed

Theodore Roosevelt Malloch
The Roosevelt Group

Stuart McAllister
North American Regional Director
Ravi Zacharias International Ministries


Michael Ahn
Retired President and CEO of LG Electronics NA

Martin Palouš
Former Permanent Representative and
United Nations Ambassador
to the Czech Republic

Paul D. Glenn
Investment Adviser Association
Washington, DC


A.R. Bernard, Sr.
Founder and CEO
Christian Cultural Center
The Council of Churches of the City of New York

J. Douglas Holladay
Park Avenue Equity Partners, L.P.

Abraham M. Lackman
Former President
Commission on Independent Colleges and Universities


 Elaine L. Chao
24th U.S. Secretary of Labor

James S.C. Chao
Foremost Group

Ronald E. Eastman
Group Vice President
Marriott International


John M. Perkins
Co-founder and President
John M. Perkins Foundation
for Reconciliation and Development

Peter Dys
Shell Point Retirement Community