Two New York Locations

ROCKLAND: 845.358.1710
MANHATTAN: 212.625.0500

 

 

Nyack News

NYC Resources for Hurricane Sandy Victims or Volunteers

Posted by Deborah.Walker on Monday November 12, 2012

 

The Nyack College New York City campus Office of Student Development shares the following resources for people who need help or want to help others as a result of Hurricane Sandy.

www.NYC.gov

FEMA: http://www.fema.gov/sandy

The Red Cross: http://www.redcross.org/find-help

Disaster Assistance: http://www.disasterassistance.gov/

National Hurricane Center Outreach: http://www.nhc.noaa.gov/outreach/

Center for Disease Control: http://emergency.cdc.gov/disasters/hurricanes/

 

IMMEDIATE NEEDS

Hot Food Locations: http://www.nyc.gov/html/misc/html/2012/hot_food.html

Food, Water, and Blanket Distribution: http://www.nyc.gov/html/misc/html/2012/foodandwater.html

Warming Centers: http://www.nyc.gov/html/misc/html/2012/warming_ctr.html

Emergency Shelters: http://www.nyc.gov/html/misc/html/2012/hurricane_shelters.html

Medical Van Locations: http://www.nyc.gov/html/misc/html/2012/medical_vans.html 

If you cannot return home and have immediate housing needs, text SHELTER + your ZIP code to 43362 (4FEMA) to find the nearest shelter in your area (example: shelter 12345).

Counseling Resources

Nyack College NYC students, please visit the counseling office at B-213, or call x7705 if they are experiencing stress related to the hurricane and its aftermath or email:

Paul Schwartz, LCSW, MA paul.schwartz@nyack.edu 

Melinda Welsh, Counseling Intern Welchm@nyack.edu 

Kesy Yoon, Counseling Intern Kesynyc628@gmail.com 

Nicoleta Floroiu, Counseling Intern Nfloroiu@gmail.com

NYC Counseling: http://www.nyc.gov/html/doh/html/cis/cis_lifenet.shtml

1-800-LIFENET (English)

1-877-AYUDESE (Español)

1-877-990-8585 (Korean and Chinese)

1-800-LIFENET (All other languages)

1-212-982-5284 (TTY)

SAMHSA Disaster Distress Hotline: 1-800-985-5990

St. Vincent’s Crisis Center Hotline: (212) 604-8220 ( English), (212) 604-8261 (Español)

Metropolitan Support Center: (212) 423-6262 (English and Spanish)

NYC Office of Emergency Management: http://www.nyc.gov/html/oem/html/get_prepared/cert.shtml 

 

HOW TO HELP

Food Donations

City Harvest: http://www.cityharvest.org/donate-food/

Food Bank: http://www.foodbanknyc.org/

Met Council: http://www.metcouncil.org/site/PageServer

Monetary Donations

Mayor’s Fund to Advance NYC: https://www.nyc.gov/html/fund/html/donate/donate.shtml

http://www.redcross.org/charitable-donations

Clothing and Goods Donations

Catholic Charities: http://www.catholiccharitiesny.org/make-a-donation/ways-of-giving/thrift-store/

Housing Works: http://www.housingworks.org/donate/drop-off-donations/ 

Salvation Army: http://www.salvationarmyusa.org/usn/www_usn_2.nsf 

Volunteer Opportunities

New York Cares: http://newyorkcares.org/volunteer/disaster/

New York City Coalition Against Hunger: https://www.nyccah.org/hurricanesandyvolunteer

Red Hook Initiative: http://rhicenter.org/

New York Blood Center: https://drm.nybloodcenter.org/publicscheduler/BloodDriveLocator.aspx

Red Cross: http://www.nyredcross.org/?nd=news_room_detail&news_id=606&jid=63321

WJA of New York: http://www.ujafedny.org/hurricane-sandy-volunteer-opportunities/

http://www.nycservice.org/

Shelters: http://www.nyc.gov/html/misc/html/2012/hurricane_shelters.html

 
<<PREV    HOME    NEXT>>
Back to Top ↑
Like us on Facebook
Our Latest Tweets
Visit us

1 South Boulevard,
Nyack, NY 10960
845.358.1710

2 Washington Street,
New York, NY 10004
212.625.0500

Privacy Policy | Social Media Guidelines
  Student and Alumni Blog